Adventures in good eating

 saladsMany of the foods in Israel have a North African influence… dishes like falafel, hummus, shakshuka, malawach and masbaha (recipes to follow in later posts, I promise) are incredibly flavorful,colorful and delicious!

Thanks to the refrigerator repairman today I learned that what I thought was some sort of mashed carrot dip is actually mashed pumpkin . He and I got to talking about the food in my fridge as he removed each item out on to the counter, asking me “do you know what this is?” suddenly we were discussing cerchi and  the secrets of Moroccan fish tagine …

I will share my experience making both.

First my attempt at making cherchi salad

In North Africa and the Middle East, what we would call “dip” is called salad.

Moroccan (or Tunisian) pumpkin dip recipe also called cherchi

1-1/2 lb pumpkin, cooked
3/4 t caraway seeds
3/4 t ground coriander
1-1/2 T olive oil
4 large cloves of garlic, crushed
1 T harissa or hot sauce
2-3 T lemon juice
Salt
In a large pan, heat the oil and add the caraway seeds and coriander. Fry gently until fragrant, stirring. Add the pumpkin, garlic, harissa, lemon juice, and salt. Remove from heat, mash ingredients, and allow to cool.

Serve with pita chips or bread

Leave a Reply

